This I Believe

This I Believe was a radio show broadcast during the 1950s on National Public Radio (NPR) hosted by famous journalist Edward R. Murrow. The purpose behind it was to have Americans describe what truths, ideals, and/or morals they held dear in 500 words or less. Some famous contributors to this movement included First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, #42 Brooklyn Dodger Jackie Robinson, 33rd President Harry S. Truman, and Nobel Prize winning theoretical physicist Albert Einstein. Here I have a list of ten ‘exploding’ beliefs which I created during a school sponsored summer program college essay class with my fabulously eccentric teacher Lauren Anderson.

This-I-Believe-Picture-1dlyuph

Image: I Believe

“Never has the need for personal philosophies of this kind been so urgent.” Edward R. Murrow

  1. I believe in a close-knit family. I believe every and anybody can be your family. I believe that as long you have people who love you as you are, you are home.

  2. I believe in tomboyish tendencies. I believe that just because you are a girl doesn’t mean you have to wear flamboyant pink. You don’t have to paint your nails religiously to impress boys. I believe watching a soccer match whether live or on the television, screaming for Brazil to win in your faded over-sized New York Yankee T-shirt is a Sunday afternoon well spent.

  3. I believe in self-expression. I believe that all your ideas should be written down as soon as possible. I believe that keeping a journal on a regular basis is a bit too much to ask for, but even one entry is a great way to reminisce on the good and bad.

  4. I believe in fun being found in anything. I believe that laughter is the best medicine. I believe a person crying is often an awkward and uncomfortable situation to witness. I believe putting a smile on even one person in the rooms face defuses the tension.

  5. I believe in trying new things at least once. I love to eat.

  6. I believe being different is normal. I believe that there is no such thing as perfect. I believe that ‘normal’ is boring. I believe in being yourself to always keep them guessing.

  7. I believe in Dr. Seuss. I believe in made-up words, in a rhyming fashion. I believe there are very few and far between authors that should be considered as great authors or even legendary. He is as much a part of my childhood as Blues Clues, PBS, Harry Potter, SpongeBob, Angry Beavers, and Aaahh! Real Monsters.

  8. I believe procrastination will be my downfall.

  9. I believe in Loser by Jerry Spinelli. I believe we all have quirks that make us who we are. I believe the imagination of child is an amazing thing to behold and lives within even the most cantankerous of seniors.

  10. I believe life is a mystery. I don’t know where I’m going and I’m strangely not all that worried. I believe the story of my life has yet to be completed. I believe it will be an epic tale for a select few to have the privilege to contribute to and observe.

2 thoughts on “This I Believe

  1. I love the This I Believe series! My journalism adviser introduced them to me last year, and I even created my blog with it in mind. I was looking through the This I Believe tag when I saw your post, and then I decided to follow you since your blog was so great.

Leave a Reply

